Learning to not be afraid.

Hello again everyone!

I apologize for not posting for a little while, Hurricane Sandy paid me a visit! I hope everyone is doing well. This post will be shorter than most, but I do intend on posting again either tonight or by the end of this weekend.

I titled this post, “Learning to not be afraid” for good reason. I recently found out about RAINN which stands for rape, abuse, and incest national network. http://www.rainn.org/ RAINN is another great resource if you have been through rape, incest or abuse. I am currently working on the application to become a speaker for them and in doing so I reached a question on the application that asked if I was okay with putting my name to my story, or if I would like to remain anonymous. I thought about it for an entire day before I made up my mind. At first, my thoughts were to remain anonymous, after all, even on this blog I do not go by my birth name (yes Ekaterina Vlas is my pen name). I thought to be anonymous so that way I could tell my story without anyone knowing who I truly am…but then I realized I was making the wrong decision.

In order to spread the message that none of us have to be afraid, none of us have to remain in the abyss of depression, anxiety, etc…it would make much more sense to show everyone that it can be done. It would be more powerful to lead by example and put my name to my story. So here it goes…I am learning to not be afraid. I am pleased to tell all of you my real name. I’m Ashley Scott and I am so very pleased to know each and every one of you.

Love, your friend, Ashley.

2 thoughts on “Learning to not be afraid.

    1. Thank you very much Grace. I really want to show others that they truly don’t have to be afraid, and I figured the best way to do that would be to lead by example. *^_^* It feels good to let everyone know my real name.

Leave a Reply

